Home Mail us Contact Us
ISO 9001 :2008
ISO 14001 :2004
OHSAS 18001 :2007
ISO 22000 :2005
ISO 13485 :2003
ISO 20000 :2005
ISO 27001 :2005
NABH Training
Third Party Audit Training
Internal Audit Training Program
Quality of health care and the initiatives to address the crucial factors provided by the health care delivery system become the
world-wide phenomena. Many countries are exploring various means and methods to improve the quality of health care services. In India, the quality of services provided to the population by both public and private sectors is questionable.
NABH accreditation system is one of the methods for commitment to quality enhancement throughout the whole of the health care system in India and abroad.
It involves all professional and service groups to ensure that high quality in health care is achieved, while minimizing the inherent risks associated with modern health care delivery.
  National Accreditation Board for Hospitals and Health Care Providers (NABH) is a constituent Board of QCI, set up with co-operation of the Ministry of Health & Family Welfare, Government of India and the Indian Health Industry. In India concerns about how to improve health care quality have been frequently raised by the general public and a wide variety of stakeholders, including government, professional associations, private providers and agencies financing health care.
This Board will cater to the much desired needs of the consumers and will set standards for progress of the health industry. This Board while being supported by the stakeholders including industry, consumers, Government, will have full functional autonomy in its operations.
    WHY NABH?  
  The main purpose of NABH accreditation is to help planners to
promote, implement, monitor and evaluate robust practice in order to
ensure that occupies a central place in the development of the health
care system.
Current policies and processes for health care are inadequate or not
responsive to ensure health care services of acceptable quality and
prevent negligence. Problems range from inadequate and inappropriate
treatments, excessive use of higher technologies, and wasting of
scarce resources, to serious problems of medical malpractice and
Quality Assurance should help improves effectiveness, efficiency and
in cost containment, and should address accountability and the need to
reduce errors and increase safety in the system.
Thus the objective of NABH accreditation is on continuous
improvement in the organizational and clinical performance of health
services, not just the achievement of a certificate or award or merely
assuring compliance with minimum acceptable standards.
  NABH Standards for Hospitals have been drafted by Technical Committee
of the NABH and contains complete set of standards for evaluation of
hospitals for grant of accreditation. The standards provide framework
for quality assurance and quality improvement for hospitals. The
standards focus on patient safety and quality of patient care. The
standards are equally applicable to hospitals & nursing homes in the
Government as well as in the private sector.
Patients are increasingly and appropriately aware of healthcare
issues, and desire participation in decisions affecting their health.
The ultimate responsibility of a health care system is to the patient.
Adherence to high standards, such as those related to timeliness of
treatment, diagnostic accuracy, clinical relevance of the tests
performed and interventions, qualifications and training of personnel,
and prevention of errors, is an ethical responsibility of all hospital
Accreditation standard requirements ensure that the owners, managers
and staff comply with appropriate technical and professional standards
regardless of cost pressures and avoidance of personal, financial and
organizational conflicts of interest
To develop a general conceptual foundation and framework for a process
of quality assurance for guaranteeing commonality of approach to
institutions, delineating the domains of quality to be measured and
the development of a credible, effective and transparent system of
accreditation, meaningful participation of the stakeholders is
essential and pre-requisite.
Standards and Objective Elements for evaluation have been set in the
following 10 areas, specifying the clear intent of the standards:-
Patient Centered Standard
Access, Assessment and Continuity of Care (ACC)
Care of Patient (COP)
Management of Medication (MOM)
Patient rights and Education (PRE)
Hospital Infection Control (HIC)
Organization Centered Standards
Continuous Quality Improvement (CQI)
Responsibilities of Management (ROM)
Facility Management and Safety (FMS)
Human Resource Management (HRM)
Information Management System (IMS)
  Powered By